What's near by

TORRIDON

 
A few miles east of Inveralligin you will find The National Trust Visitors Centre and deer Museum. Further along the road is the Torridon Inn next to the Torridon Hotel, an impressive building set in wonderful scenery on the south shore of Loch Torridon.

APPLECROSS

From Shieldaig follow the mountain road to Applecross. This small village is steeped in history going back to the year 673 when Maelrubha started the Christian settlement. The local Inn is a perfect haven in any weather and recommended in the food guides, well worth a visit.

There is a small Heritage museum now open in the village next to the church.

 

PLOCKTON

This is an extremely popular and pretty village famous for it’s palm trees in the main street. Boat trips are available to see the seals and other wild life on the nearby islands. The TV series Hamish Macbeth was filmed in and around the village.

 

ISLE OF SKYE

It is worth taking a day out to visit the island which has much to offer in the way of castles, shops, museums, and unforgettable scenery, being only a couple of hours away by car. There are also some very good local places to eat on the island.

 

DIABAIG

This pretty little village is famous for the location of the 1995 film Loch Ness featuring Ted Danson and Joley Richardson.

 

HERITAGE MUSEUM NEAR UIG, ISLE OF SKYE

From Uig continue on the A855 north, just past the village of Hungladder is the Museum near the Fiona MacDonald Monument. A long way from the cottage but well worth the visit. To return continue on the A855 and come down the east coat, the views are magnificent, on a clear day the shores of Loch Torridon and the sands at Red Point can be seen quite clearly.

SHIELDAIG

The village of Shieldaig is situated on the East side of outer Loch Torridon, here you will find the nearest shop.  Shieldaig Island which is set in front of the village is protected by the National Trust and is covered with ancient Scots pine. These trees used to cover the whole of Scotland before deforestation.

Shieldaig Village Shieldaig Island

 

Other local places of interest include Inverewe Gardens, Loch Maree and the Beinn Eighe Nature Reserve.

 

 

Local Shops:

Shieldaig General Stores Tel: 01445 760252
Kinlochewe General Stores Tel: 01445 755220
Maciver Shellfish ( Kenmore ) Tel:  01520 755367

In addition to the local store at Shieldaig, a mobile Grocer ( fresh meat & fish , fruit & veg, bread, milk etc... ) comes round to the village every Tuesday afternoon, and there is local produce for sale which is grown in the village at the green.


Petrol Filling Stations:

Kinlochewe Tel: 01445 760227
Achnasheen Tel: 01445 720330
Applecross

Eating Out:

There are many good to excellent Hotels and restaurants in the area, the following we can recommend and further details can be found at the cottage.

The Torridon Hotel Tel: 01445 791242 www.lochtorridonhotel.com
Torridon Inn Tel: 01445 791242 www.lochtorridonhotel.com
Kinlochewe Hotel Tel:  01445 760453 www.kinlochewehotel.co.uk
Gille Brighde Cafe & Restaurant, Diabeg. Tel: 01445 790245 www.gille-brighde.com
Carron Restaurant, Lochcarron Tel: 01520 722488 www.carronrestaurant.com
Three Chimneys, Colbost, Isle of Skye Tel: 01470 511258 www.threechimneys.co.uk
Tigh-an Eilean Hotel, Shieldaig Tel: 01520 755251 www.tighaneilean.co.uk
Melvaig Inn, Gairloch Tel: 01445 771212 www.melvaig-inn.co.uk
Glenelg Inn Tel: 01599 522273 www.glenelg-inn.com
Applecross Inn, Applecross Tel: 01520 744262 www.applecross.uk.com/inn/index.htm
Ledgowan Lodge, Achnasheen Tel: 01445 720252 www.ledgowanlodge.co.uk
Plockton Hotel Tel: 01599 544274 www.plocktonhotel.co.uk

 

The Three Chimneys  01470 511258